31586284842_9b3124bf20

Attribution 

This week we had several group presentations on their assessment plans, and I learned many new assessment tools that I did not know of beforehand. One assessment tool that showed up a few times was the 3-2-1 assessment tool. I thought this assessment tool was interesting so I decided to dig a little deeper and find out more about it. On the teacher tool kit website I found information that was similar to what was shared in class. After the lesson the students write down three things they learned from the lesson, two things they found interesting/would like to learn more about, and one question they still have about the material. However, one thing of the most important things that was mentioned on this website is that you need to review the students’ responses. As the teacher tool kit website states, “You can use this information to help develop future lessons and determine if some of the material needs to be taught again.” I was shocked by all the assessment tools that were presented in class Wednesday night, and the purposes they all had. Learning about these different assessment tools will definitely help me as I move forward in my education.

The other thing we focused on in Wednesday’s class was course plans. I was never really aware of course plans until this semester where I have been told about them in several classes. It was great to have had some prior knowledge on course plans; however, I still learned many new things. What I have been taught in my EMTH courses is that a course plan is a layout of your outcomes from the curriculum in the order you want to teach them with explanations that connect the outcomes to one another. The course plans that I created in EMTH were mostly teacher focused as it didn’t include any assignments, grades, contact information, materials, dates, or I can statements. Now I have learned that course plans should be student friendly and should include all details that the students would need for the course. The center for teaching and learning at the University or Washington has a page on their website which states how to create a course plan and what should be included in one. Something I found interesting from this website is that when you are creating a course plan you should be asking yourself the following questions:” 1) Who are the students? 2) What do I want students to be able to do? 3) How will I measure students’ abilities?” They also stated that, “by asking yourself these questions at the onset of your course design process you will be able to focus more concretely on learning outcomes”. This is important because you should be focusing on the students’ learning and their learning outcomes as opposed to focusing on how you will squeeze in every bit of information into a short period of time.

Wednesday’s class was full of information that will definitely help me in the future.

Sources:

3-2-1. (n.d.). The teacher tool kit. Retrieved from http://www.theteachertoolkit.com/index.php/tool/3-2-1

Course and syllabus design. (n.d.). The center for teaching and learning: University of Washington. Seattle, WA. Retrieved from http://www.washington.edu/teaching/teaching-resources/preparing-to-teach/designing-your-course-and-syllabus/

 

 

