Well friends, the end is here! I have come to an end on my knitting project, and I must say, this journey had a lot of ups and downs. Throughout this semester, I have attempted knitting three different things; a blanket, a toque, and a scarf. Unfortunately, none of them turned out how I planned! In this post I’ll give you a rundown of the areas of strength and areas of weakness in each knitting project.

Knitting Project 1 – Blanket

IMG_8699.JPG

This ‘Barbie Blanket’ was the first knitting project I attempted. Originally I had planned to make a bigger blanket than this, one that would cover a toddler, but unfortunately that didn’t happen. As I have stated in a previous post, this project took me about a month to finish. At the beginning it was taking me a long time to finish a single row because I wasn’t accustomed to knitting. In this project, each row took roughly around 15-30 minutes, depending on how messed up the previous row was. There were times where I would knit for an hour to two hours straight and I wouldn’t see any results, which lead me to become frustrated, but there were also times where I would look at it and feel proud of how much I have knitted. Even though are some flaws in this ‘blanket’, I would like to say that this ‘Barbie Blanket’ is the project I like the most!

Knitting Project 2 – Toque

IMG_8700.JPG

Knitting this ‘toque’ has made me want to quit knitting. As you can see, I quit. To make this toque, you had to be able to knit and to purl, and sadly I only knew how to knit. I practiced how to purl for a couple hours before trying this toque again, and at the beginning I was on a roll. I started off going very slow because I was paying attention to each stitch I had to do. It was a constant struggle of trying to remember if I just finished doing a purl, or doing a knit, and most of the time I could not remember. As I said in a previous post, I started off with 70 stitches, but then I somehow ended up with a lot more than 70. From the way I was counting, I counted a number that was close to 120, but maybe I was counting it wrong. Anyways, to finish one row on this toque, it took me around an hour to an hour and a half, which was crazy! After knitting for two hours and not seeing results was frustrating! In the picture above, you can see how there is hardly anything on there, but doing all of that took be roughly 6 hours! Even though I gave up on this toque, I am still going to finish it eventually, but not any time soon!

Knitting Project 3 – Infinity Scarf

IMG_8702

As you can see in the photo above, this is not a scarf! Once I was finished with the arm knitting portion of the scarf it looked somewhat good, but then I had to tie the two ends together by weaving the tail end of my yarn through it. During that step I must have messed up or something because now there isn’t a hole for your head to go through. We all know what an infinity scarf looks like, well this isn’t it. Fortunately, I learned how to create a wedding veil, so if anybody needs a veil that looks like this, email me! Hahaha just kidding! The steps for arm knitting were really simple to follow and I loved how nice the scarf on the video turned out. I thought my scarf would look the same, but I guess I didn’t make my stitches tight enough, which caused the huge holes in my scarf. Below is a screenshot of what the scarves in the video look like, and beside it is what mine looks like.

Below is a video I created that basically summarizes my knitting journey. Enjoy!

I have realized that learning how to knit, solely based on technology is sometimes difficult. Of course technology makes it convenient for you to learn wherever you are, but sometimes the video you are watching can’t help you when you are stuck or when you have made a mistake. When I implement technology into my classroom, I have to remember that I am the teacher and that I can’t rely on technology to teach my students. Of course technology will benefit my students and will keep them engaged, but it won’t necessarily help them when they are stuck. For example, when I was arm knitting, I was stuck when it came to creating the seam, and if there was someone who could have demonstrated it to me in person, or someone who could physically manipulate my hands to create the seam, I probably would have ended up with a scarf instead of a ‘veil’. Technology is very important in the classroom, but we have to remember that it isn’t made to replace the teacher.

